National Holidays in the Philippines for 2012

by Gil on January 4, 2012

In the Philippines, there are many holidays that you should know because all banks and governments offices are closed at that time. Holidays are categorized as regular, special non-working and special holidays. Regular holidays are those mandated by the law and the date cannot be changed (but may be moved by the President) as a holiday while special are proclaimed and approved by the President.

Occasionally, it is nice to have a vacation or day off from your work or business since you can take time to relax or spend more time with your loved ones. The list below shows the national holidays in the Philippines for 2012 as indicated in Proclamation No. 295 declaring the regular holidays, special (non-working) days and special holiday for all schools. Take note that all schools, banks, some private companies, government offices and institutions are closed that day for any transactions or working.

A. Regular Holidays

1. New Year’s Day – January 1 (Sunday)
2. Maundy Thursday – April 5
3. Good Friday – April 6
4. Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Monday)
5. Labor Day – May 1 (Tuesday)
6. Independence Day – June 12 (Tuesday)
7. National Heroes Day – August 27 (Last Monday of August)
8. Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Friday)
9. Christmas Day – December 25 (Tuesday)
10. Rizal Day – December 30 (Sunday)
11. Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha – approximate dates of the Islamic holidays

B. Special (Non-Working) Days

1. Chinese New Year – January 23 (Monday)
2. Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Tuesday)
3. All Saints Day – November 1 (Thursday)
4. Additional special (non-working) day – November 2 (Friday)
5. Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Monday

C. Special Holiday (for all schools)

1. EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Saturday)

Proclamation NO. 295 was issued on November 24, 2011 in City of Manila. The Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) is mandated to promulgate the implementing guidelines for this proclamation.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

*

code

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: